I cannot believe this is really happening! Joey is going to come back from the dead. (Kind of sounds like something out of a Stephen King novel, doesn’t it? Pet Sematary, anyone?)

Joey the reBOOT will be published by the end of December or the first part of January. That’s the goal.

Today I finished reading everyone’s submissions and making the final selections for the reBOOT issue.

A little bit of trivia: Joey was the cat of a friend of mine. He knows who he is. I won’t name him because I don’t want to embarrass him and he’s super famous…or he should be. He was a HUGE part of my life when this thing got off the ground back in the early ’90s. He had this lovely black cat, who made in an appearance in a poem, laying on some black boots, thinking about cat food. And then took on the title role of what would consume my life for many years: Joey and the Black Boots.

And now Joey is alive again!

I miss my friend. We live several states away from each other, but his poems will grace the electronic pages of Joey once again. Yay! Several of my poetry friends from the ’90s have found us again! I’m so excited to have been able to reconnect with some fantastic writers and again publish their work.

Look for some teasers of poetry and art in this blog leading up to the release of Joey.

And submissions for the next issue are open! Please read the guidelines for instructions.

